2013 MEA Business Meeting Meeting Minutes

October 22, 2013

I. Call to order

Chris Daves called to order the regular meeting of the MEA Business Meeting at 11:42 on October 22, 2012 at Bost Theater.

II. Old Business

Chris Daves asked for old business. There was no old business to discuss.

III. New business

- a) Chris Daves asked for any new business. A vote on new officers was taken. The attached sheet shows the results of the vote.
- b) Angus Catchot suggested that we add 3 additional directors to the Board of Directors to prevent a sway to the row crop side. It was asked if there was any discussion on this topic. Jerome Goddard brought up the subject of what it says in the by-laws. Jeff Gore suggested that an amendment was made to the by-laws. Mike Caprio stated the Board members were usually chosen by participation. Catchot stated that only the board attends the meeting and he was trying to get a broader group to be present. The following members were suggested to make up the Board of Directors:

Ryan Jackson Melissa Siebert Angus Catchot Jeff Gore Clint Allen John Riggins Jeff Harris

Don Cook moved a motion to amend the by-laws and add 3 additional directors. Williams seconded. All in favor.

- c) Statement made that next year there should be a credit card machine.
- d) Statement made that website is/should be updated, Joe MacGown stated online registration should be done.

- e) Goddard suggested that Kristine Edwards needs some way of acknowledgement for all her hard work on the Midsouth Entomologist. Give monetary gift or award. Was stated that something was in the works currently.
- f) There will be no more row crop round table-need to get a broader audience more like that of a symposia for all entomology areas, potentially another roundtable. Suggestions were needed.

IV. Committee Reports

No committee reports at the time.

Committee chairs have not changed. Catchot stepped down from chairing Awards Committee. Suggestions for new Awards Committee chair. Catchot nominates John Guyton. Brian Adams seconded. All in favor.

Nathan Little is new chair of Public Relations Committee.

Brian Adams moved that we accept the current committee. Jeff Gore seconded. All in favor.

V. Unresolved and Other Issues

Discussion about what to do for Kristine Edwards will be held at next Executive Committee Meeting.

MEA Distinguished Service Award goes to Chip Graham.

VI. Adjournment

Chris Daves adjourned the meeting at 12:15.

Minutes submitted by: Jenny Bibb